Last week, Whatsapp, the popular messaging app now owned by Facebook, announced that it would immediately encrypt the messages of all users- a whopping one billion people. Encryption means that only the user and the person they're communicating with can read what is sent- or see their videos, listen to their calls, hear their voice messages, or view their photographs. Whatsapp has also told its users that they don’t store their messages on their servers, so no one will be able to access them in the future.
In an impressive demonstration of technical wizardry, this encryption has taken place automatically for all users, provided all parties are using the most recent version of Whatsapp. There is no way to turn it off.
Read the full article here.